FAQ Skibrid

SKIBRID, is it for me?

 

I have never skied or snowboarded, can I ride with a SKIBRID?

Of course you can! SKIBRID is accessible to everyone, whatever your level in skiing or snowboarding. The frame acts like an exoskeleton and naturally controls the twisting and edging of the board instead of the legs with the handlebars that turn and tilt.

 

At what age can you practice SKIBRID?

SKIBRID practice is recommended from 12 years old.

As SKIBRID is less traumatic for the legs and especially the knees, it is possible to go back skiing with SKIBRID after an injury.   

 

Is there a height / weight limit for practicing SKIBRID?

The practice of SKIBRID is recommended for a height of 1m60 to 1m95 and for a weight of 50kg to 85kg.  

 

I am already a skier/snowboarder, what does practising SKIBRID add?

SKIBRID is a new sport. Who says new says different, just like skiing or snowboarding are two different kind of glides. The SKIBRID will bring you new sensations. First, you will have your feet free! Then you will have a handlebars in your hands ...  

 

Is it binding?

SKIBRID weighs only the weight of a pair of ski boots and instantly folds into a snowboard bag. And there is no need for specific shoes. It’s up to you to judge!

Where can I ride with a SKIBRID?

Which resorts allow SKIBRID?

The list of resorts welcoming SKIBRID is available on our website here. It is regularly updated and we continue to work on it. If you have any questions, feel free to contact us: stations@skibrid.com .  

 

What kind of ski lift can I take with a SKIBRID?

All kinds: gondola lifts, chairlift, ski lifts! SKIBRID has been approved by the STRMTG, the delegation of the Ministry of Transport responsible for ensuring the safety of ski lifts and guided transport. Thanks to its tilting handlebars, you will only take one seat on the chairlift. Likewise, thanks to the handlebars and the lightness of this equipment, you can easily fold it to take a gondola. However, be careful to follow the instructions in force in each resort, which may differ depending on the type of ski lifts and slopes. 

You will find the positions to be adopted on the chairlift and ski lift on the instructions supplied with the SKIBRID.  

How to assemble a SKIBRID?

 

Is it complicated ?

SKIBRID is screwed on instantly and without any transformation in place of the bindings on any snowboard equipped with 4x4 inserts (Burton boards are therefore excluded) and is conventionally mounted on a ski. 

But don't panic, an assembly manual is delivered with it! If you have any doubts, please send us an email at hello@skibrid.com .  

 

On which type of board can a SKIBRID be used? 

You can use any snowboard that has 4x4 inserts, so Burton boards are not suitable for a SKIBRID frame. The device being easily removable you can vary the boards to vary the sensations! SKIBRID retains all the characteristics of the board on which it is mounted.  

 

Can I also use it on any ski?

The SKIBRID concept is better suitable with some kinds of ski and fixing the ski adaptor requires very good technical knowledge of the ski. This is why, for an exclusive SKIBRID ski practice, we only sell packs containing the ski, an EVO frame and a ski adaptor already fixed to the ski. We choose the skis carefully.  

 

How can I ride with a Skibrid?

 

How do I get started?

Choose wide slopes with little difference in altitude to familiarize yourself with the SKIBRID. It is important to give yourself time to understand how it works. There is only one bad reflex to avoid: do not tilt the handlebar in the turn. It's a guaranteed wrong edge!

 

All our tips for turning/stopping are in the user manual delivered with the SKIBRID!

But on flat ground and without ski sticks, how can you move?

Use your front foot as if you were using a kick scooter! And you won't even have to take your shoes off!

 

What about stability?

The SKIBRID is stable, whether with a snowboard or a ski. Having your feet free allows you to instantly take out a support when needed, unlike skiing or snowboarding.  

 

Can the SKIBRID leave without me if I fall?

No! Because you have a leash that links you to SKIBRID. It is also compulsory and useful on the chairlift. 

How should I be equipped to practice SKIBRID?

 

Should I wear specific shoes?

With SKIBRID, no need for specific shoes! Soft, high and warm shoes, such as hiking shoes or snow boots. Choose shoes in which you feel comfortable to enjoy your SKIBRID experience without thinking about your feet!

 

Should I have specific equipment?

No, you don’t need any specific equipment! Wear clothes adapted to the current conditions. The helmet is mandatory, as is the leash (provided).

For questions about orders and delivery, click here

FAQ Skibrid

Le SKIBRID, est-ce pour moi ?

 

Je n’ai jamais fait de ski ni de snowboard, est-ce que je peux faire du SKIBRID ?

Oui bien sûr ! Le SKIBRID est accessible à tous, quel que soit votre niveau en ski ou snowboard. Le cadre agit comme un exosquelette et contrôle naturellement le vrillage et la prise de carres de la planche à la place des jambes avec le guidon qui tourne et s’incline. 

 

A quel âge peut-on pratiquer le SKIBRID ?

La pratique du SKIBRID est conseillée à partir de 12 ans.

Le SKIBRID étant moins traumatique pour les jambes et notamment les genoux, il est possible de reprendre le ski avec SKIBRID après une blessure.   

 

Y-a-t-il une limite de taille/poids pour pratiquer le SKIBRID ?

La pratique du SKIBRID est conseillée pour une taille de 1m60 à 1m95 et pour un poids de 50kg à 85kg. 

 

Je suis déjà skieur/snowboarder, qu’apporte de plus le SKIBRID ?

SKIBRID est une nouvelle glisse. Qui dit nouvelle dit différente, au même titre que le ski ou le snowboard sont deux glisses différentes. Le SKIBRID vous apportera de nouvelles sensations. Déjà, vous aurez les pieds libres ! Ensuite, vous aurez un guidon entre les mains… 

 

C’est contraignant ?

SKIBRID pèse seulement le poids d’une paire de chaussures de ski et se replie instantanément dans une housse de snowboard. Et il n’y a pas besoin de chaussures spécifiques. A vous d’en juger !

Le SKIBRID, je peux en faire où ?

 

Quelles stations autorisent le SKIBRID ?

La liste des stations accueillant le SKIBRID est disponible sur notre site sur cet onglet. Elle est régulièrement mise à jour et nous continuons d’y travailler. Si vous avez une question à ce sujet, vous pouvez nous contacter à cette adresse: stations@skibrid.com

 

Quel type de remontée mécanique puis-je prendre avec un SKIBRID ?

Tous types: télécabine, télésiège, téléskis ! SKIBRID a été homologué par le STRMTG, la délégation du Ministère des Transports chargée de veiller à la sécurité des remontées mécaniques et transports guidés. Grâce à son guidon basculant, vous ne prendrez qu’une seule place sur télésiège. De même, grâce au guidon et à la légèreté de l’engin vous pourrez le plier facilement pour le transporter dans une télécabine. Attention cependant à suivre les consignes en vigueur de chaque station qui peuvent différer selon les typologies de remontées mécaniques et de pistes. 

Vous trouverez les positions à adopter sur télésiège et téléski sur la notice livrée avec le SKIBRID. 

Comment monter un SKIBRID ?

 

C’est compliqué ?

SKIBRID se visse instantanément et sans aucune transformation à la place des fixations sur n’importe quel snowboard équipé d’inserts 4x4 (les boards Burton sont donc exclues) et se monte conventionnellement sur un ski. 

Mais pas de panique, une notice de montage est livrée avec ! Si vous avez un doute n’hésitez pas à nous envoyer un mail sur hello@skibrid.com

 

Sur quel type de board peut-on utiliser un SKIBRID ?

Vous pouvez utiliser n’importe quel snowboard disposant d’inserts 4x4, les boards Burton ne sont donc pas adaptables au cadre SKIBRID. Le dispositif étant facilement démontable vous pouvez varier les boards pour varier les sensations ! SKIBRID conserve toutes les caractéristiques de la board sur laquelle il est monté. 

 

Est-ce que je peux aussi l’utiliser sur n’importe quel ski ?

Le principe SKIBRID s’adapte mieux sur certains skis et fixer l’adaptateur ski nécessite une très bonne connaissance technique du ski en question. C’est pourquoi, pour une pratique SKIBRID exclusive ski, nous vendons uniquement des packs contenant le ski, un cadre EVO et un adaptateur ski déjà fixé sur le ski. Nous choisissons les skis avec attention. 

 

Le SKIBRID, comment ça marche ?

 

Comment faire pour débuter ?

Privilégiez les pistes larges avec peu de dénivelé pour vous familiariser avec le SKIBRID. Il est important de vous donner du temps pour comprendre son fonctionnement. Il n’y a qu’un seul mauvais réflexe à éviter: ne penchez pas le guidon dans le virage. C’est la fausse carre assurée !

Tous nos conseils pour tourner/s’arrêter sont dans la notice d’utilisation livrée avec le SKIBRID ! 

 

Mais sur du plat sans bâton, on fait comment ?

Servez-vous du pied avant comme si vous utilisiez une trottinette ! Et vous n’aurez même pas besoin de déchausser !

 

Et niveau stabilité ?

Le SKIBRID est stable, que ce soit monté sur un snowboard ou un ski. Avoir les pieds libres vous permet de sortir instantanément un appui au besoin, contrairement à la pratique du ski ou du snowboard. 

 

Le SKIBRID peut-il partir sans moi si je tombe ?

Non ! Car vous avez un leash qui vous relie au SKIBRID. Il est d’ailleurs obligatoire. Il est également très utile sur télésiège. 

Comment m’équiper pour pratiquer le SKIBRID ?

 

Faut-il porter des chaussures spécifiques ?

Avec SKIBRID, pas besoin de chaussant ! Des chaussures souples, montantes et plutôt chaudes du type chaussures de randonnée ou bottes de neige. Choisissez des chaussures dans lesquelles vous êtes bien pour profiter de votre sortie SKIBRID sans penser à vos pieds !

 

Dois-je avoir un équipement spécifique ?

Non, pas besoin d’équipement spécifique ! Portez des vêtements adaptés aux conditions du moment. Le casque est obligatoire, de même que le leash (fourni).

Pour les questions au sujet des commandes et livraison, cliquez ici